Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join MPA
News & Press: General

Here's What You Missed at the MPA Annual Conference

Tuesday, December 6, 2016  
Share |
 Highlights from the MPA Annual Conference
October 29, 2016 

Morning entertainment was provided by Jim Leffert, Ph.D., Sara Epstein, Ph.D. and David Gotthelf, Ph.D.

MPA President Dawn Cisewski, Psy.D., presided over the Annual Business Meeting, where attendees received an update on MPA's activities over the past year and a look ahead to the future of MPA, including the announcement and presentation of MPA's new Strategic Plan.

The Keynote Address, The Policy Determinants of Race and Class Inequities in Health, was led by Dean E. Robinson, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor of Political Science and Public Policy at the University of Massachusetts in Amherst. He discussed health outcome disparities based on race and class, and how public policy decisions contribute to these disparities.

Valene Whittaker, Ph.D. and Stephen Gresham, Ph.D. presented a breakout session, Culture Clash or Cultural Convergence? Navigating Power, Privilege, and Social Justice Values in Healthcare Systems.

Congratulations to this year's MPA Awards Winners! From left to right: Abbie Seibert, Ph.D., recipient of the award for Outstanding Service to MPA as President Elect, President and Past President; Karen Postal, Ph.D., ABPP-CN, recipient of the Kenneth D. Herman, Ph.D., J.D, Career Contribution Award and her daughter Caroline; Michael Goldberg, Ph.D.,Assistant Director of Professional Affairs of MPA; Rep. Joseph P. Kennedy III, recipient of the Legislator of the Year Award; MPA President Dawn Cisewski, Psy.D.; Cathleen M. Crider, Ph.D., recipient of the Ezra Saul Psychological Service Award; and Jean McGuire, MA, Executive Director of METCO, recipient of the Stanley R. Berkowitz Allied Professional Award.
The Plenary Session, Enhancing Cultural Responsiveness by Richard Pinderhughes, Psy.D., Director of Programs and Senior Consutant with Visions, Inc., was an experiental workshop that invited attendees to identify the costs of implicit bias that create barriers to becoming culturally responsive.
Thank you to MPA Conference Committee Co-chairs Emily Mohr, Ph.D. and Daniel O'Donnell, Ph.D., and to Conference Committee members Luana Bessa, Ph.D., Valene Whittaker, Ph.D., Wendy Vincent, Psy.D., Sukanya Ray, Ph.D., Tracey Rocha Phelon, Ph.D., Tanya Vishnevsky, Ph.D., Mary Dee Glynn Roux, Psy.D., Christina Morley, Psy.D., and Abigail Seibert, Ph.D. for their hard work planning and organizing this year's conference!
Don't Miss Next Year's Conference!   
Save the Date: MPA Annual Conference 
Saturday, November 4, 2017  
at the Sheraton Four Points, Norwood, MA 

more MPA Events

RESCHEDULED Ethics & Risk Management in Complex Clinical Conundrums (Trust Insurance Sequence)

2020 Annual Conference: Bridging the Gap: From Fundamentals to Innovation

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal